top of page

5 Things To Do With Your Kids During Social Distancing

I know we are all going a bit stir crazy and longing for our lives to return to normal. I like for my kids to entertain themselves and play independently a lot. But being unable to get out of the house and rainy days makes for long, whiny days. We have done a few fun activities and have more planned to do.


Bake together. Earlier this week, we made our own homemade cakes. It is a learning experience no matter what age. Fun and tasty, too!


Paint a project. Pull out any kind of paint and my kiddos are happy. We have done canvases, construction paper, little wooden cutouts. They love it all. It keeps them busy for a while.



Do directed drawing. My kids love anything crafty. I have found that lots of kids love directed drawing, too. You don’t have to be an artist to do this! You can search tutorials or just look at a simple picture and break it into steps with your kids. I draw and explain one step, then they do it. We did a Bible lesson on fear and then drew monsters.




Make your own play dough or moon sand. We were fresh out of sculpting toys, so I searched how to make our own. And it was really easy! For the play dough, mix 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1 cup cornstarch, 3/4 cup water. Once mixed, heat on medium heat and stir. When it starts to form a dough, take off heat and allow to cool. You can mix in essential oils or food coloring. It was great for two days, I found after that it became a little sticky. For moon sand, mix 4 cups flour with 1/2 cup baby oil.



Do a scavenger hunt around your house/yard. We haven't done this one yet, mostly because it takes a little more forethought. But I think the kids would have so much fun and it would get everyone moving around.



I would love to hear how y'all are keeping busy and having fun during this crazy time. Drop a comment and let me know!







41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page