top of page

Seafood Gumbo

My husband and I started dating in high school. His family is from Texas, when I would go over to his house for dinner they would have all kinds of crazy food I've never even heard of! (I'd lived a sheltered life of the same five meals ever - you know it, Mom). The Stovalls would fix chalupas, gumbo, jumbolaya, crawfish boils, and all the fixin's. I'll just be honest - I didn't like it. I was picky. As I've aged, my taste buds have changed and I'm not picky at all anymore.


I decided to try my hand at Gumbo (Trevor was super excited). I read a few recipes and came up with this version that we all loved! My kids devoured it, too. It makes a bunch, so there is plenty for company and leftovers.




Ingredients

  • 4 lb shrimp, peeled & deveined (we used frozen, to thaw- throw them in a bowl, run them under cold water for a few minutes)

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

  • 1/2 cup flour

  • 2 cups chicken broth

  • 3-4 chicken breasts

  • 1 onion, chopped

  • 5 stalks celery, chopped

  • 3 large tomatoes, chopped

  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic

  • 2 bay leaves

  • 1 tablespoon salt

  • 2 tablespoons Ole Bay Seasoning

  • 3 (6 oz) cans crab meat

  • 1 package smoked sausage, chopped


Directions

  1. Peel & devein shrimp. Refrigerate. Place shrimp shells in a pot with 3 cups of water. Bring to a boil, cover, and simmer for 20-30 mins. Strain out shrimp parts and reserve broth. Set aside.

  2. Using a large pot, heat vegetable oil for 2-3 minutes.

  3. Once oil is hot, add the flour. Whisk constantly until flour is a dark brown.

  4. Carefully stir in chicken broth and continue to stir until combined

  5. Place chicken breasts in pot

  6. Add onions, celery, tomatoes, garlic, bay leaves, Old Bay seasoning, and salt.

  7. Simmer for 1.5 - 2 hours on low medium heat, until chicken is very tender

  8. Remove chicken from pot, set aside to cool. Shred chicken.

  9. Add chicken meat, shrimp broth, crab meat, sausage, and shrimp to pot. Combine well.

  10. Bring to a boil and let let boil for 1 minute.

  11. There ya go! Delicious gumbo is all yours. I like to serve mine over white rice with a side of cornbread. Yum! Let me know what you think.


187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page